> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 2 April 2018
  • ISBN: 9780143790082
  • Imprint: Random House Australia Children's
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $9.99

Tom Weekly 1: My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up




A nail-biting - no, make that toe-biting - thrill ride through one boy's life.

I'm Tom Weekly. This is a nail-biting - make that toe-biting - thrill ride through my life.

This is where I pour out whatever's inside my head. Like the time a bloodthirsty magpie out to get me. Or when I had to eat Vegemite off my sister's big toe. And don't forget the day I ate 67 hot dogs in ten minutes. My life gets a bit weird sometimes but that's how I roll.

Top 3 reasons to read this book:
1. Cures for nits
2. Hover underpants
3. Instructions for teleporting

  • Pub date: 2 April 2018
  • ISBN: 9780143790082
  • Imprint: Random House Australia Children's
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 240
  • RRP: $9.99

About the Authors

Tristan Bancks

Tristan Bancks tells stories for the page and screen. His books for kids and teens include Two Wolves, The Fall, Detention and the Tom Weekly series. Two Wolves won Honour Book in the 2015 CBCA Book of the Year Awards and was shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. The Fall was a CBCA Notable Book and shortlisted for the Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature. Tristan’s books have also been recognised in multiple children’s choice awards. Tristan is a writer-ambassador for literacy charity Room to Read. He is currently working with producers to develop several of his books for the screen. He’s excited by the future of storytelling and inspiring others to create. You can find out more about Tristan’s books, play games, watch videos, chat to the author and help him try to change the world at www.tristanbancks.com.

Gus Gordon

Gus Gordon is an internationally acclaimed illustrator and author. He has illustrated and written over 80 books for children. His illustrations are known for their loose and energetic line work, mixed media and humour. His writing is always anthropomorphic. He attributes this to his love of Kenneth Grahame's Wind in The Willows.
Gus's first picture book, Wendy, was a Notable Book in the 2010 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Picture Book of the Year Awards.

His second picture book, Herman and Rosie, now published in twelve countries, has been internationally acclaimed and awarded.

Somewhere Else was published by Penguin Random House Australia in 2016.


Praise for Tom Weekly 1: My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up

“My Life & Other Stuff I Made Up is just SO gross! It was a toss-up between My Nan’s Tougher and Scab as to which was the most revolting story, but I think the former won . . . Tristan Bancks serves up nine weird, wacky and hilarious stories about toes, teeth, teleporters and more, which make you wonder what really goes on inside his head. Read it at your peril and chat to Tristan at tristanbancks.com.”

Carol Warren, West Australian

“Bancks knows what will make young readers laugh, and want more. Gus Gordon’s cartoon-like sketches, lists, random jottings, text boxes, and other interjections add to the humour. I recommend these chapter books particularly for boys who are not yet sure they love to read. But I bet any youngster will relate to Tom’s misadventures.”

thebookchook.com

“These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled and wondering if it really happened or not … They're easy to devour and perfect for reading out loud. MY LIFE AND OTHER STUFF I MADE UP is highly recommended for ages 9 and up.”

Oliver Phommavanh, Buzz Words Books

“In this delightful and funny story, Bancks has beautifully captured the essence of boyhood. Tom is a typical 21st-century Australian schoolboy, following in the fine footsteps of Ginger Meggs. He means well, he has a great sense of humour and a brilliant imagination, but most of the time it all ends up a big mess. It's exciting, yet exhausting stuff. Best of all, it made me laugh.”

Wendy Noble, Good Reading

“Are you ready to laugh? Yes? Good. Because you won't be able to help yourself once you open this cover … Boys will love this book. Fans of Griffiths, Gleitzman and Jennings will be thrilled to have this book in their collection. Author Bancks doesn't skip a beat as he writes from his character Tom's perspective, and illustrator Gus Gordon adds his usual funny and clever drawings to it all. What a great book.”

www.kids-bookreview.com

“A sort of Aussie tall-tale version of Jeff Kinney’s Diary of a Wimpy Kid (2007), Bancks’ latest features stories with a high-level gross-out factor ... A good choice for kids drawn to the upside down and out-and-out disgusting.”

Booklist

“It’s a laugh-out-loud look at a boy’s imagination with all of the bravado and cringe-worthy moments that readers might expect. The short, easy-to-read entries are punctuated with Tom’s drawings, making this a good choice for reluctant readers. Additionally, the hybrid format, a chapter book filled with cartoon illustrations, and the humorous take on one boy’s life, make it another pick for readers looking for Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Abrams, 2007) read-alikes.”

School Library Journal

“These bite-sized bursts of fun are inspired by Paul Jennings, Andrew Daddo and Andy Griffiths, the sort of stories that will keep kids enthralled and wondering if it really happened or not … They're easy to devour and perfect for reading out loud. My Life and Other Stuff I Made Up is highly recommended for ages 9 and up.”

Oliver Phommavanh, Buzz Words Books

“Like Dahl, Bancks is passionate about inspiring a love of reading in the young by placing fun at the centre of his storytelling.”

Andy Griffiths, Sydney Morning Herald


Related titles