> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 February 2022
  • ISBN: 9781645950486
  • Imprint: Holiday House
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $30.99

The Swallowtail Legacy 1: Wreck at Ada's Reef



Punctuated with transcripts, letters, maps, black-and-white illustrations and more, The Swallowtail Legacy: Wreck at Ada's Reef is a vibrant contemporary mystery with a classic feel exploring righting past wrongs, redefining family, and finding yourself.

Twelve-year-old Lark Heron-Finch is steeling herself to spend the summer on Swallowtail Island off the shores of Lake Erie. It's the first time that she and her sister will have seen the old house since their mom passed away. And while her stepfather and his boys are okay, the island's always been full of happy memories--and now everything is different.

When Nadine, a close family friend, tells Lark about a tragic boat accident that happened off the coast many years before, Lark's enthralled with the story. Nadine's working on a book about Dinah Purdy, Swallowtails's oldest resident who had a connection to the crash, and she's sure that the accident was not as it appeared. Impressed by Lark's keen eye, she hires her as her research assistant for the summer.

And then Lark discovers something amazing. Something that could change Dinah's life. Something linked to the crash and even to her own family's history with Swallowtail. But there are others on the island who would do anything to keep the truth buried in the watery depths of the past.

A compelling and complex mystery with a classic feel, Wreck at Ada's Reef is perfect for fans of The Parker Inheritance, Holes,The Westing Game, and anyone looking for a satisfying puzzle that stretches across decades.

  • Published: 15 February 2022
  • ISBN: 9781645950486
  • Imprint: Holiday House
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 320
  • RRP: $30.99

Related titles