> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 September 2018
  • ISBN: 9780451478306
  • Imprint: Razorbill
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $29.99

The Second Life Of Ava Rivers




An immersive, vignette-style novel about the sudden reappearance of a missing girl and the effect it has on her twin sister and their broken family. The Second Life of Ava Rivers is perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces and The Way I Used to Be by Amber Smith.

Ava's disappearance was the crack in the Rivers family glacier. I wish I could explain to you how we were before, but I can't, because the before is so filmy and shadowed with the after.

The after is all Vera remembers. When her twin sister, Ava, disappeared one Halloween night, her childhood became a blur of theories, tips, and leads, but never any answers. The case made headlines, shocked Vera's Northern California community, and turned her family into tragic celebrities.

Now, at eighteen, Vera is counting down the days until she starts her new life at college in Portland, Oregon, far away from the dark cloud she and family have lived under for twelve years. But all that changes when a girl shows up at the local hospital.

Her name is Ava Rivers and she wants to go home.

Ava's return begins to mend the fractures in the Rivers family. Vera and Ava's estranged older brother returns. Vera reconnects with Max, the sweet, artistic boy from her childhood. Their parents smile again. But the questions remain: Where was Ava all these years? And who is she now?

  • Pub date: 15 September 2018
  • ISBN: 9780451478306
  • Imprint: Razorbill
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $29.99

Praise for The Second Life Of Ava Rivers

“A beautiful, moving, and thoughtful story about how far we're willing to go for family”

Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

“A poignant, haunting story about being lost and found, about secrets, sisters, grief, and the redemptive power of forgiveness—The Second Life of Ava Rivers will stay with you long after you’ve turned the last page”

Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be

“Raw, heartfelt, and ultimately redemptive. A captivating story about grief, trauma, and healing. ”

Kerry Kletter, acclaimed author of The First Time She Drowned


Related titles