> Skip to content
The Nanny State Made Me
About the book
  • Published: 5 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9781529102413
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $39.99

The Nanny State Made Me

A Story of Britain and How to Save it




National treasure and Sunday Times bestseller Stuart Maconie makes the case for the welfare state in this compelling mix of memoir and history, perfect for fans of Darren McGarvey and Owen Jones.

'He is as funny as Bryson and as wise as Orwell' Observer

It was the spirit of our finest hour, the backbone of our post-war greatness, and it promoted some of the boldest and most brilliant schemes this isle has ever produced: it was the Welfare State, and it made you and I. But now it's under threat, and we need to save it.

In this timely and provocative book, Stuart Maconie tells Britain’s Welfare State story through his own history of growing up as a northern working class boy. What was so bad about properly funded hospitals, decent working conditions and affordable houses? And what was so wrong about student grants, free eye tests and council houses? And where did it all go so wrong? Stuart looks toward Britain’s future, making an emotional case for believing in more than profit and loss; and championing a just, fairer society.

  • Pub date: 5 March 2020
  • ISBN: 9781529102413
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $39.99

About the Author

Stuart Maconie

Stuart Maconie is a writer, broadcaster and journalist familiar to millions from his work in print, on radio and on TV. His previous bestsellers have included Cider with Roadies, Pies and Prejudice and Adventures on the High Teas, and he currently hosts the afternoon show on BBC 6music with Mark Radcliffe as well as weekly show The Freak Zone. Based in the cities of Birmingham and Manchester, he can also often be spotted on top of a mountain in the Lake District with a Thermos flask and individual pork pie.

Also by Stuart Maconie

See all

Related titles