> Skip to content

About the Book
The magic fair has a lot more than just fairy floss and fun rides, it has cakes that jump and pies that fly.  Enter - but beware!  Kayla and her cousin Peter soon find out that not all the surprises are nice ones.  When Peter is mean to Kayla the Fair takes matters into its own hands in a very unusual way.
About the Waarda series
Waarda, Nyungar for talking and sharing stories and information, is an exciting new Indigenous children's series.  Edited by Sally Morgan, the series is designed to support the literacy needs of Indigenous children in primary school, by making available to them stories written by Indigenous authors.  At the same time, it will introduce non-Indigenous children to the richness and depth of Indigenous storytelling.  Above all, it is a collection of fun, interesting and diverse first chapter books for new readers.

Formats & editions

  • Paperback


    August 30, 2010

    Fremantle Press

    48 pages

    RRP $9.95

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Sally Morgan

We All Sleep
Dream Little One, Dream
Sister Heart
Dan's Grandpa
Remembered By Heart: An Anthology of Indigenous Writing
Just a Little Brown Dog
In Your Dreams
My Country
Life After Death
Curly Saves Grandma's House
My Psychic Life
Curly and the Fent
Heartsick for Country: Stories of Love, spirit and creation
Speaking From the Heart
Arthur Corunna's Story: My Place for Young Readers
Sally's Story: My Place for Young Readers
Mother & Daughter: My Place for Young Readers
My Place


George's Marvellous Medicine
Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator
Undercover Princess
Double Down: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (BK11)
Two Wolves
Our Australian Girl: The Lina Stories
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Too Many Elephants in this House
A Wrinkle In Time
Everything, Everything
I Just Couldn't Wait to Meet You
Boy Overboard
WaR: Wizards And Robots
Our Australian Girl: The Grace Stories
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons series)
The Dark Prophecy (The Trials Of Apollo Book 2)
Today We Have No Plans
Wind In The Willows
Amazing Monster Detectoscope
The Hazel Wood