> Skip to content
  • Published: 4 April 2022
  • ISBN: 9781645950325
  • Imprint: Holiday House
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 96
  • RRP: $19.99

The Great Mathemachicken 1

Hide and Go Beak



A new young chapter book series about a chicken who loves math, science, and learning new things--by New York Times bestselling author Nancy Krulik for fans of Unlimited Squirrel and Bumble and Bee.

Chirpy is a young chicken stuck in the family coop. But she's not like the other chickens who just sit around peck peck pecking all day. She's intrigued by the children who come home from a place called school. They always look so happy! (Well, most days.)

So Chirpy sneaks onto the bus one morning, hides in the classroom . . . and discovers a true love of math. When she shares what she's learned with the other chickens, they think she's one kernel short of a cob.

Even so, Chirpy is determined to find a formula for fowl success by pecking away. But when a hungry fox tries to attack the coop, can she find the equation for a simple solution?

With lively two-color art throughout and a fun hands-on simple machine activity, this eggs-ellent hilarious young chapter book series starter is a Grade-A pick for emerging readers to get them eggs-ited about science and math.

  • Published: 4 April 2022
  • ISBN: 9781645950325
  • Imprint: Holiday House
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 96
  • RRP: $19.99

Also by Nancy Krulik

See all

Related titles