> Skip to content

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties!

It's 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household—specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there’s more to the story—and that the paintings in the Sewell’s gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what’s really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author’s note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

Praise for The Gallery

Reviews

This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics . . . readers will certainly be swept up by Martha’s pluck and the mystery’s many layers

Booklist, starred review

A solid, fast-moving mystery for historical fiction fans, with nods to art history and mythology

School Library Journal

Offer this to fans of Blue Balliett who like sophisticated adventures

Publishers Weekly

Fitzgerald’s interest in art and history inform this puzzle of a novel, with Jane Eyre, Sacco and Vanzetti, the dying art of vaudeville, chemistry, and the 1929 stock market crashes all playing roles

The Horn Book

A rollicking 1920s madcap mystery . . . Fitzgerald has neatly developed Martha as a perfectly period-appropriate spunky-girl protagonist readers will root for

Kirkus Reviews

Young teens will enjoy [Martha's] impertinence and determination, and may not even notice that they are learning a little bit about the Sacco and Vanzetti trial and the 1928 presidential election, as well as the stock market crash of 1929

VOYA

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Paperback

    9780142427705

    August 28, 2017

    Puffin

    352 pages

    RRP $12.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Hardback

    9780525428657

    August 1, 2016

    Dial

    336 pages

    RRP $26.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Audio Book

    9780451485458

    June 15, 2016

    Audio RH USA

    RRP $64.99

    Online retailers

    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Under the Egg

Recommendations

Undercover Princess
Girl Online: Going Solo
The Whiz Mob and the Grenadine Kid
Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Alice-Miranda in Japan 9
The Getaway: Diary of a Wimpy Kid (BK12)
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
Midnight Jewel
Charlie And The Great Glass Elevator
Trash
Thirteen Reasons Why
The Witches
The Fall
Friday Barnes 7: Bitter Enemies
A Semi-definitive List of Worst Nightmares
Library Of Souls
Dr Boogaloo and The Girl Who Lost Her Laughter
Pippa's Island 2: Cub Reporters
Now