> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 1 July 2008
  • ISBN: 9780099505280
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $14.99

Shark Music

Formats & editions

The final novel in the bestselling Mallory series

A mutilated body is found lying on the ground in Chicago, a dead hand pointing down Adams Street, also known as Route 66, a road of many names. And now of many deaths. A silent caravan of cars, dozens of them, drives down the road, each passenger bearing a photograph, but none of them the same. They are the parents of missing children, some recently disappeared, some gone a decade or more – all brought together by the word that children's gravesites are being discovered along the Mother Road.

Detective Sergeant Kathy Mallory drives with them. The child she seeks, though, is not like the others. It is herself – the feral child adopted off the streets, her father unknown, her mother dead, their past a mystery. During the next few extraordinary days, Mallory will find herself hunting a killer like none she has come across before, and uncovering the secrets that have haunted her all her life.

  • Pub date: 1 July 2008
  • ISBN: 9780099505280
  • Imprint: Arrow
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $14.99

About the Author

Carol O'Connell

Born in 1947, Carol O'Connell studied at the California Institute of Arts/Chouinard and Arizona State University. She lives in New York City.

Also by Carol O'Connell

See all

Praise for Shark Music

“O'Connell is a consummate story-teller - a unique talent who deserves to be a household name”

Val McDermid

“Kathy Mallory is one of the most unique, interesting and surprising heroines you'll ever come across in any work of fiction”

Nelson de Mille

“Kathy Mallory is a marvellous creation”

Jonathan Kellerman

“Carol O'Connell is a gifted writer with a style as quick and arresting as Kathy Mallory herself”

Richard North Patterson

Related titles