> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 October 2017
  • ISBN: 9781785036330
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $14.99
Categories:

Orphan Sisters



A heartbreaking family saga for fans of Maggie Hope and Kitty Neale


Lana and May are a very long way from home.

Their Nigerian parents have emigrated to England in search of a better life for their family. Nineteen Fifties London is a great adventure to the girls but not always welcoming. There are signs in windows of lodging houses warning: 'no blacks, no dogs, no Irish'.

When tragedy strikes and the girls lose their father, their mother is unable to cope. When she fails to recover from the surprise birth of another child all three girls are sent to an orphanage. Lana is determined to keep her sisters together but when baby Tina gets adopted, she must admit their family is about to be torn apart - perhaps for ever...

  • Published: 15 October 2017
  • ISBN: 9781785036330
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 384
  • RRP: $14.99
Categories:

About the author

Lola Jaye

Lola Jaye has penned six novels and a self-help book for Quick Reads. Her work has been translated into several languages including Korean, German and Serbian. She grew up in South London and has also lived in Nigeria and America. She is a registered psychotherapist and currently runs a private practice in London.

Keep up to date with Lola via her website: www.lolajaye.com

Also by Lola Jaye

See all

Praise for Orphan Sisters

ORPHAN SISTERS by Lola Jaye The story of Lana, May and Tina, three sisters who find themselves alone in 1950s London after losing their parents is as remarkable as it is touching. Lola’s ability to evoke the era and create characters who you are rooting for from the word go, takes a real talent. Orphan Sisters is a brilliant saga novel in the mould of some of the classics

DOROTHY KOOMSON

I highly recommend this moving, gripping story about a Nigerian family who start a new life in England, only to find themselves cruelly torn apart.

KITTY NEALE

ORPHAN SISTERS is wonderful, affecting and refreshing, with characters and a story-line that weave together flawlessly. An important slice of social history that I recommend without hesitation.

ALEXANDRA BROWN

Related titles