> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 31 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780143780809
  • Imprint: Random House Australia
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 144

Opposite Land




An exciting and unforgettable graphic novel that takes you on a magical adventure to a place where everything is never as it seems . . .

An exciting and unforgettable graphic novel that takes you on a magical adventure to a place where everything is never as it seems . . .
Welcome to Opposite Land – where socks wear feet, broccoli is meat, behind is ahead, and people poop from their head!

After the worst day ever, Steve discovers a strange book written upside down and back to front. That night, when its words become mysteriously clear and Steve begins to read them, she’s transported to the topsy-turvy world in the book – Opposite Land. In this extraordinarily peculiar place, roads float in mid-air, people live in giant snail shells and monsters are made of pasta!

But all that will change once Emperor Never gets his way and destroys Opposite Land for good. When a flying cabbage called Sanjiv reveals that Steve is the only one who can defeat the emperor, it’s up to Steve to face her fears and save the world.

Can Steve help restore Opposite Land to its former glory and find her way back home?

  • Pub date: 31 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9780143780809
  • Imprint: Random House Australia
  • Format: EBook
  • Pages: 144

About the Author

Charlotte Rose Hamlyn

Charlotte Rose Hamlyn is a Sydney-based storyteller and an award-winning screenwriter for cartoons like Beat Bugs, Blinky Bill, Tashi and Guess How Much I Love You?. She’s also a television presenter for Channel 7’s art and craft show Get Arty, voices cartoon characters, including Marcia the Mouse in Blinky Bill: The Movie, and is a retired professional fairy. Earlier in her career, Charlotte made short films about spiders with human-phobias and worked for Academy Award-winning director George Miller on Happy Feet 2. She grew up in Adelaide, Australia, but now lives in Sydney, where she spends her time writing and drawing in a colourful house full of art, plants and lots of pencils. She likes sequins, and pineapple on pizza.


Praise for Opposite Land

“The gorgeous, funky artwork and rampantly silly story make this book ideal for fans of Captain Underpants and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.”

Kate McDonnell, Junior Books+Publishing

“Readers who enjoy cartoons of the Adventure Time ilk will really get into the comic style of the graphics as well as the strangeness of Opposite Land … Recommended for readers from around eight years upwards.”

losangzopa.wordpress.com

“Both my 8-year-old girls picked this book up and read it cover to cover. They said it was “ridiculous” and “funny”, particularly that people in Opposite Land “pooped ice-cream” ... The cover is bright and enticing and in graphic novel format, so it presents like a comic, packed with pictures to draw in emerging or reluctant readers.”

Carissa Mason, Reading Time


Discover More

Video
Author and illustrator Charlotte Rose Hamlyn shows us how to draw the villainous Emperor Never from her graphic novel, Opposite Land!

Related titles