> Skip to content

Rich, atmospheric Cold War thriller for fans of Joseph Kanon and Tom Rob Smith.

Major Tom Fox is despatched to East Berlin to bring home a traitor who defected to escape justice. But it's clear that there's more at stake than an old man wanting to return home to face the music. Powerful forces on both sides of the Iron Curtain stand to lose if the defector is given his day in court. Fox soon finds that in the upside-down world of Cold War Berlin he's operating alone in the enemy's backyard, unsure of who he can trust. And if Fox is going to succeed in his mission, let alone escape with his life, he will need to draw on skills learned during a past he's trying to forget . . .

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9780718181581

    May 14, 2018

    Michael Joseph

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Hardback

    9780718181574

    May 15, 2018

    Michael Joseph

    RRP $45.00

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Audio CD

    9781405939027

    June 15, 2018

    Michael Joseph

    RRP $110.00

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781405921732

    May 17, 2018

    Penguin eBooks

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo

Extract

1

April 1972

It began as a Swallows and Amazons sort of day.

The lake was calm and the wind warm. It was too early in the year for that many tourists and most of those walking the hills or along the lakeshore were second-home owners. The locals were busy running pubs and village shops or working on the hill farms that characterized this part of the Lake District. The old man heading for the lake, with his grandchildren straggling like ducks behind him, was staying in a grey stone house overlooking the shore.

It was to be a wet summer. So wet it would spawn headlines that screamed flood, and showed photographs of holidaymakers huddling on beaches under umbrellas. No one knew that yet. So far the weather was mild, the papers taken up with inflation and, for the man walking down to the dinghy, it was a year like any other.

Continue Reading

Also by Jack Grimwood

Moskva

Recommendations

The Thirst
Make Me
Hades
The Girl on the Train
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
The Black Book
The Couple Next Door
Never Never
The Girl Who Was Taken
Don't Let Go
Inferno
I Am Pilgrim
The Juliet Code
Munich
If I Die Before I Wake
I Know a Secret
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Need To Know
Picnic At Hanging Rock
Palace Of Treason