> Skip to content
Read an extract About the book
  • Published: 7 January 2020
  • ISBN: 9781786331632
  • Imprint: Hutchinson
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

Long Bright River

Read the book everyone will be talking about




Gritty and moving crime thriller, for fans of THE WIRE and LINE OF DUTY from the critically-acclaimed author of HEFT.

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
‘Tough, tense and twisty - but tender, human and deeply affecting, too ... I don't have a sister, but when I finished the book I called my brother, just to hear his voice.’ LEE CHILD
'An outstanding crime novel.' PAULA HAWKINS

'Outstanding . . . an intense family thriller . . . The clever plot and involving characters set a high standard for this new year.’ DAILY MAIL
_____________________________________
KENSINGTON AVE, PHILADELPHIA:
THE FIRST PLACE YOU GO FOR DRUGS OR SEX.
THE LAST PLACE YOU WANT TO LOOK FOR YOUR SISTER.
Mickey Fitzpatrick has been patrolling the 24th District for years. She knows most of the working women by name. She knows what desperation looks like and what people will do when they need a fix. She’s become used to finding overdose victims: their numbers are growing every year. But every time she sees someone sprawled out, slumped over, cold to the touch, she has to pray it’s not her sister, Kacey.

When the bodies of murdered sex workers start turning up on the Ave, the Chief of Police is keen to bury the news. They’re not the kind of victims that generate a whole lot of press anyway. But Mickey is obsessed, dangerously so, with finding the perpetrator - before Kacey becomes the next victim.
_____________________________________
'A remarkable, profoundly moving novel about the ties that bind and the irrevocable wounds of childhood. It’s also a riveting mystery, perfectly paced. I loved every page of it.' DENNIS LEHANE

‘Every so often a thriller comes along that is so remarkable that it transcends genre and Long Bright River is one such book. The mystery at its heart is absorbing, thoughtful and perfectly paced and Mickey is a flawed heroine who it’s easy to root for ... heartbreakingly profound. This flawless masterpiece
deserves to be a bestseller.’ DAILY EXPRESS

‘This is a thrilling and heartbreaking exploration of the strain the opioid crisis puts on families. A masterpiece.’ DAILY MIRROR

  • Pub date: 7 January 2020
  • ISBN: 9781786331632
  • Imprint: Hutchinson
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $32.99

About the Author

Liz Moore

Liz Moore is the author of the acclaimed novels Heft, recently optioned as a feature film, and The Unseen World, which was optioned for television. A winner of the 2014 Rome Prize in Literature, she lives in Philadelphia.

Also by Liz Moore

See all

Praise for Long Bright River

“An outstanding crime novel, bringing to mind the best of Dennis Lehane or David Simon. I found myself eking out the final pages because I didn't want it to end. I absolutely loved it.”

Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

“Tough, tense and twisty - but tender, human and deeply affecting, too ... I don't have a sister, but when I finished the book I called my brother, just to hear his voice.”

Lee Child

“Every so often a thriller comes along that is so remarkable that it transcends genre and Long Bright River is one such book. The mystery at its heart is absorbing, thoughtful and perfectly paced and Mickey is a flawed heroine who it’s easy to root for. But the fourth novel from acclaimed American writer Moore is also heartbreakingly profound in exploring the strain put on families and entire communities by the opioid crisis in US cities. It exposes the way addicted parents’ broken promises inflict childhood wounds that never heal. But it also gives hope that familial bonds and community spirit can ultimately triumph. This flawless masterpiece deserves to be a bestseller.”

Daily Express

“An outstanding crime novel, bringing to mind the best of Dennis Lehane or David Simon. I found myself eking out the final pages because I didn't want it to end. I absolutely loved it.”

Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

“Strong characters and some truly evocative writing.”

Guardian Books of the Month

“Both sweeping and unbearably intimate, a riveting crime novel and character-rich study of a city and its battered heart . . . Not to be missed.”

Megan Abbott, author of YOU WILL KNOW ME

“Extraordinary . . . twists, turns and subverts readers’ expectations till its very last pages . . . a sweeping, elegiac novel about a blighted city.”

Maureen Corrigan, Washington Post

“LONG BRIGHT RIVER is a remarkable, profoundly moving novel about the ties that bind and the irrevocable wounds of childhood. It’s also a riveting mystery, perfectly paced. I loved every page of it.”

Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author

“Very moving.”

The Times

“Liz Moore lays open the sometimes fractured lives of others with a true novelist’s hand and eye.”

John Harvey

“Outstanding . . . an intense family thriller . . . The clever plot and involving characters set a high standard for this new year.”

Daily Mail

“A page-turning mystery . . . Equal parts literary and thrilling.”

Oprah magazine

“[B]rilliant and harrowing thriller […] Beautifully told, this is a book to totally lose yourself in.”

Best January reads, Stylist

“Not to be missed.”

Irish Times

“This is a thrilling and heartbreaking exploration of the strain the opioid crisis puts on families. A masterpiece. ”

Daily Mirror

“A haunting tale of addiction and redemption.”

Woman

“A gritty exploration of the power of family ties.”

Best


Related titles