> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 7 January 2020
  • ISBN: 9781786331632
  • Imprint: Hutchinson
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $32.99

Long Bright River

Read the book everyone will be talking about




Gritty and moving crime thriller, for fans of THE WIRE and LINE OF DUTY from the critically-acclaimed author of HEFT.

'An outstanding crime novel.' PAULA HAWKINS
_____________________________________
KENSINGTON AVE, PHILADELPHIA:
THE FIRST PLACE YOU GO FOR DRUGS OR SEX.
THE LAST PLACE YOU WANT TO LOOK FOR YOUR SISTER.
Mickey Fitzpatrick has been patrolling the 24th District for years. She knows most of the working women by name. She knows what desperation looks like and what people will do when they need a fix. She’s become used to finding overdose victims: their numbers are growing every year. But every time she sees someone sprawled out, slumped over, cold to the touch, she has to pray it’s not her sister, Kacey.

When the bodies of murdered sex workers start turning up on the Ave, the Chief of Police is keen to bury the news. They’re not the kind of victims that generate a whole lot of press anyway. But Mickey is obsessed, dangerously so, with finding the perpetrator - before Kacey becomes the next victim.
_____________________________________
'A remarkable, profoundly moving novel about the ties that bind and the irrevocable wounds of childhood. It’s also a riveting mystery, perfectly paced. I loved every page of it.' DENNIS LEHANE

  • Pub date: 7 January 2020
  • ISBN: 9781786331632
  • Imprint: Hutchinson
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 464
  • RRP: $32.99

About the Author

Liz Moore

Liz Moore is the author of the acclaimed novels Heft, recently optioned as a feature film, and The Unseen World, which was optioned for television. A winner of the 2014 Rome Prize in Literature, she lives in Philadelphia.

Also by Liz Moore

See all

Praise for Long Bright River

“An outstanding crime novel, bringing to mind the best of Dennis Lehane or David Simon. I found myself eking out the final pages because I didn't want it to end. I absolutely loved it.”

Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

“An outstanding crime novel, bringing to mind the best of Dennis Lehane or David Simon. I found myself eking out the final pages because I didn't want it to end. I absolutely loved it.”

Paula Hawkins, bestselling author of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

“Both sweeping and unbearably intimate, a riveting crime novel and character-rich study of a city and its battered heart . . . Not to be missed.”

Megan Abbott, author of YOU WILL KNOW ME

“LONG BRIGHT RIVER is a remarkable, profoundly moving novel about the ties that bind and the irrevocable wounds of childhood. It’s also a riveting mystery, perfectly paced. I loved every page of it.”

Dennis Lehane, New York Times bestselling author

“Liz Moore lays open the sometimes fractured lives of others with a true novelist’s hand and eye.”

John Harvey


Related titles