> Skip to content

Discover the pioneers of YA classics

Provocative, iconic and outspoken, these are the stories that have been influencing and inspiring generations for decades, now with striking new covers. 

  • Masterful short stories by Nobel Prize-winning author John Steinbeck celebrate the spirit and courage of adolescence and rural America.

  • A brilliant novella that is a fable about the dangers of unexpected wealth by great American novelist, John Steinbeck, author of The Grapes of Wrath.

  • A love story across the divide set in Northern Ireland during the Troubles, part of the Originals, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults

  • A tense thriller about a serial killer targeting homeless youngsters; Stone Cold won the Carnegie Medal and is now part of the Originals, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • An unforgettable story of young love and teenage pregnancy; winner of the Carnegie Medal.

  • The original teenage rebel story.

  • After the First Death is a brilliant thriller by Robert Cormier, now part of The Originals, showcasing the best in YA modern classics.

  • A ground-breaking story about modern South Africa, part of the Originals collection, Penguin's essential modern classics for YA readers.

  • Aidan Chambers' stunning Carnegie Medal-winning novel weaves together a contemporary coming-of-age story of 17-year-old Jacob with his grandfather's story from WWII Holland.

  • Based on a nightmarish true episode in a Californian high school, this powerful novel about the danger of fanaticism is part of the Originals - Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • A powerful story of young love across the divide, during The Troubles in Northern Ireland; now part of the Originals collection, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • An absolute classic coming-of-age novel from the 1940s, with an irresistible narrator, which fans of contemporary writers such as Meg Rosoff, Rainbow Rowell or E Lockhart will love.

  • The moving true-life story of a young girl in exile in Siberia during World War II, which will appeal to fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas an dCodename Verity.

More Book Lists

A Guide to Robert Drewe

An introduction to Robert Drewe’s literary life.

The Meet... Series

Learn about extraordinary figures in Australia's history in this picture book series.

Essential Crime & Thrillers

Get on the case with some scintillating 2017 white-knuckle rides.

Popular Page-turners So Far

A look back at some of 2017’s hottest releases to date.

Must-Reads in Your 30s

Essential books for those transitioning into adulthood.

Curriculum Resources: STEM

Books exploring science, technology, engineering or maths.