> Skip to content

Discover the pioneers of YA classics

Provocative, iconic and outspoken, these are the stories that have been influencing and inspiring generations for decades, now with striking new covers. 

  • A stunning new series look for one of the greatest writers of the 20th century.

  • A stunning new series look for one of the greatest writers of the 20th century.

  • A love story across the divide set in Northern Ireland during the Troubles, part of the Originals, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults

  • A tense thriller about a serial killer targeting homeless youngsters; Stone Cold won the Carnegie Medal and is now part of the Originals, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • An unforgettable story of young love and teenage pregnancy; winner of the Carnegie Medal; now part of the Originals collection, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • After the First Death is a brilliant thriller by Robert Cormier, now part of The Originals, showcasing the best in YA modern classics.

  • A ground-breaking story about modern South Africa, part of the Originals collection, Penguin's essential modern classics for YA readers.

  • Aidan Chambers' stunning Carnegie Medal-winning novel weaves together a contemporary coming-of-age story of 17-year-old Jacob with his grandfather's story from WWII Holland; now part of the Originals collection, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • Based on a nightmarish true episode in a Californian high school, this powerful novel about the danger of fanaticism is part of the Originals - Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • A powerful story of young love across the divide, during The Troubles in Northern Ireland; now part of the Originals collection, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • An absolute classic coming-of-age novel from the 1940s, with an irresistible narrator, which fans of contemporary writers such as Meg Rosoff, Rainbow Rowell or E Lockhart will love. Part of the Originals - Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

  • The moving true-life story of a young girl in exile in Siberia during World War II, which will appeal to fans of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and Code Name Verity; now part of the Originals collection, showcasing Penguin's very best modern classics for young adults.

More Book Lists

Batmania

Delve into the dangerous DC Universe and discover how Batman became the world’s favourite vigilante.

Dad's Day by DK

A selection of new DK books to do up dad’s mantle.

Book Him! This Father’s Day

Don’t let Dad off the hook for his dad-ism this Father’s Day.

Recommended Texts for Secondary Schools 2019

A collection of titles curated for teachers by our education team at Penguin Random House

Nordic Noir

Something sinister lurks behind the picaresque and icy façades of Scandinavian life.

Run for Life

Get fit, be mindful and discover joy through one of our favourite pastimes.