> Skip to content

A selection of 2016’s most striking book covers.

Admit it, you’ve done it before: walked into a bookstore, a cover catches your eye, pulls you towards it, entices you to pick up the book and read the blurb. It might not be entirely what you expected, it might be an author you’ve never heard of, a genre you wouldn’t usually go for. But there you are, book in hand, investigating further.

Here are some 2016 titles that prove you can judge a book by its cover.

  • Dark secrets, a devastating mystery and the games people play: the gripping new novel from the bestselling author of The House We Grew Up In and The Third Wife.

  • The scandalous Australian woman who enchanted British society

  • From the author of the monumental My Struggle series, Karl Ove Knausgaard, one of the masters of contemporary literature and a genius of observation and introspection, comes the first in a new autobiographical quartet based on the four seasons

  • In The Cook's Table, Stephanie shares 25 of her favourite menus for entertaining family and friends, from special occasions such as Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, Mother's Day and Father's Day, to menus inspired by her travels in France, Italy, Turkey and Peru. This must-have guide to entertaining includes 130 new tried and tested recipes.

  • A classic tale of murder and deceit from one of the world’s master storytellers – ‘a masterpiece’ The Times

  • A compelling novel about art and power, courage and cowardice from the Booker-winning author of The Sense of An Ending

  • Ottolenghi’s ground-breaking classic cookbook, which captured the zeitgeist for using imaginative flavours and ingredients, is relaunched with a contemporary design.

  • Winner of the 2016 Readings Prize for New Australian Fiction, a gripping and beautifully written novel for fans of Anne Tyler and Elizabeth Strout.

  • The Tale of Peter Rabbit was first published by Frederick Warne in 1902 and endures as Beatrix Potter's most popular and well-loved tale. It tells the story of a very mischievous rabbit and the trouble he encounters in Mr McGregor's vegetable garden!

  • No one does family like Anne Tyler - and the Battistas might be her most appealing yet…the new novel from the bestselling author of A Spool of Blue Thread

  • This book will teach you how to say hygge, how to find hygge, and how to create hygge. It will help you to appreciate just how important these moments are, and why in our busy modern lives it's more vital than ever to switch off and make time for hygge.

  • Haruki Murakami’s first two novels, available for the first time in English outside Japan. With a new introduction by the author.

More Book Lists

Blooming Beautiful

Celebrate spring with some bright additions to your to-be-read pile.

Books for Dad

Books for all kinds of Dads this Father’s Day.

Must-Reads in Your 40s

Books to enjoy through life’s middle part.

A Guide to Robert Drewe

An introduction to Robert Drewe’s literary life.

The Meet... Series

Learn about extraordinary figures in Australia's history in this picture book series.

Essential Crime & Thrillers

Get on the case with some scintillating 2017 white-knuckle rides.