> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9780670784783
  • Imprint: Viking
  • Format: Board Book
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $29.99

Hawthorn


Formats & editions


A world on the brink of war.
 
All Avaline Hall wants is to enjoy her senior year at Blythewood Academy, the boarding school where she’s been trained to defend humankind from forces of dark magic. But when Ava is shown a glimpse into the future in the enchanted Blythe Wood, she discovers that the evil Judicus van Drood is rallying nations into a war that seems destined to destroy both the human and faerie worlds. Only Ava and her allies have a chance at stopping van Drood, but how many must die in the process? And how can Ava and the boy she loves be together when everything around them is falling apart?

  • Pub date: 15 January 2017
  • ISBN: 9780670784783
  • Imprint: Viking
  • Format: Board Book
  • Pages: 416
  • RRP: $29.99

About the Author

Rosemary Wells

Rosemary Wells is a classic children's writer and illustrator with a worldwide reputation for her very acute observations of children. Born in New York City she attended the Museum School in Boston and then worked as a book designer. Her first book was published in 1972, since when she has published over 30 children's picture books and board books. She recently collaborated with Iona Opie on MY VERY FIRST MOTHER GOOSE which has received huge media attention and been critically acclaimed as a classic.
AUTHOE LIVES: New York, USA

PRAISE FOR NOISY NORA:
'CAN STAND LIMITLESS REREADINGS. A WONDERFULLY CONCISE RHYTHMIC TEXT, WITH FULL STORY IN THE PICTURES.' Sunday Telegraph
'A WONDERFULLY FUNNY STORY' The Mail on Sunday
'THE ILLUSTRATIONS ARE, UNSURPRISINGLY, OF HIGH QUALITY; THE STORYLINE GENTLY AMUSES, THOSE FAMILIAR WITH ROSEMARY WELLS' WORK OVER THE LAST TWENTY FIVE YEARS ARE NOT LIKELY TO BE DISAPPOINTED. SHE IS LIKELY TO ALSO WIN SOME NEW EARLY YEARS ADMIRERES' School Librarian Magazine

Also by Rosemary Wells

See all

Praise for Hawthorn

“Praise for HAWTHORN: "Blythewood fans will find plenty to enjoy in the fast-paced, high-stakes series finale... A satisfying end to an epic trilogy." —Kirkus Praise for RAVENCLIFFE: "Rife with atmosphere, adventure and romance, this is a fantasy world worth getting lost in for a while." —Kirkus "Recommend this supernatural melodrama to fans of Gail Carriger and Libba Bray." —Booklist "[This] book is highly readable... especially to readers who have already devoured the works of authors like Libba Bray." —Voya Praise for BLYTHEWOOD: "A beautifully evocative tale perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Tiffany Trent. First in a trilogy, Goodman's story is intriguing, romantic, eerie, and adventurous...a multifaceted and mature fantasy."—Publishers Weekly, starred review "...a beautifully told fantasy, ripe with magic, forbidden love and unspeakably dark forces...a journey well worth taking." —Kirkus "...a treat for lovers of the gothic." —Booklist "Heavy in atmosphere with just enough romance, this novel is sure to find an appreciable following." —School Library Journal “Carol Goodman’s Blythewood is reminiscent of both Harry Potter and The Diviners, but in a way that doesn’t distract from the entertaining story within.”—Forever Young Adult BLYTHEWOOD: YALSA 2014 Best Fiction for Young Adults list”


Related titles