> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 17 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9781785034039
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $32.99
Categories:

Final Girls

Three Girls. Three Tragedies. One Unthinkable Secret




An engrossing and twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of In a Dark Dark Wood and Black Eyed Susans

Each girl survived an unthinkable horror. Now someone wants them dead...

They were the victims of separate tragedies. Three strangers bound by similar traumas grouped together by the press.

When something terrible happens to Lisa, put-together Quincy and volatile Sam finally meet. Each one influences the other. Each one has dark secrets. And as the bloodstained fingers of the past reach into the present, each one will never be the same.

  • Pub date: 17 July 2017
  • ISBN: 9781785034039
  • Imprint: Ebury Press
  • Format: Trade Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $32.99

About the Author

Riley Sager

Riley Sager is the pseudonym of a former journalist, editor and graphic designer who previously published mysteries under his real name.

Now a full-time author, Riley's first thriller, Final Girls, was a national and international bestseller that has been sold in 25 languages. A film version is being developed by Universal Pictures and Anonymous Content.

A native of Pennsylvania, he now lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

Also by Riley Sager

See all

Praise for Final Girls

“Praise for FINAL GIRLS by Riley Sager - the twisty psychological thriller - for fans of Caz Frear, JP Delaney and Ruth Ware: The first great thriller of 2017 is almost here: FINAL GIRLS, by Riley Sager. If you liked GONE GIRL, you’ll like this”

Stephen King

“Fantastic”

Whoopi Goldberg, The View

“A tense thriller you won’t want to put down until you find out what's really going on”

Stylist

“When you stop breathing for the first couple of pages of a book, you know you’re in for a treat ... Gripping, fast-paced and full of twists - the perfect holiday read.”

Grazia

“The must-be-a-movie thriller ... one for slasher-fic fans”

Glamour

“The FINAL GIRLS need you. You must sit down with this book, you must read. You must start flipping pages, faster, faster, faster. The FINAL GIRLS are tough, everything survivors should be. But the new threat is clever, ominous, even closer than you suspect. You are about to gasp. You might drop the book. You may have to look over your shoulder. But you must keep reading. This is the best book of 2017, the FINAL GIRLS need you.”

Lisa Gardner

“A terrific read!”

Karin Slaughter,, New York Times and international bestselling thriller writer

“An intriguing original idea. We’ve all shuddered at bloodbath stories – but how does the survivor cope? It made me think outside the psychological box. Fresh voice, great characterisation and unexpected surprises. This stayed in my mind because it was different”

Jane Corry,, the Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband's Wife

“A great thriller that gave me goosebumps and kept me reading into the night. There were so many unexpected revelations that I had no idea where it was going. A must read”

Katerina Diamond,, bestselling author of The Teacher and The Secret

“Phenomenally drawn characters and an intriguing premise make this one of my favorite books I've read this year. An outstanding debut”

Hollie Overton,, Sunday Times bestselling author of Baby Doll

“Stephen King dubbed this page-turner about three women with a seriously grim bond the “first great thriller of 2017.” So yeah, it’s good”

Cosmopolitan

“Original, fast-paced, and terrifying. FINAL GIRLS takes an unflinching look at the price to be paid for surviving. You will not be able to put this book down!”

Amy Engel,, author of The Roanoke Girls

“Captivating and compelling, with a refreshingly brilliant premise, Riley Sager is one to watch”

Lisa Hall,, author of Between You and Me

“The tale builds to a fantastic conclusion that will have readers thinking of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train . . . This brilliant horror/psychological thriller will fly off the shelves”

Library Journal (starred review)

“You know the cold dread that washes over you while you’re watching a slasher flick? That’s how you’ll feel reading this blood-spattered mystery”

Entertainment Weekly

“inventive, well-crafted ... A fresh voice in psychological suspense”

Kirkus Reviews

“FINAL GIRLS is a compulsive read, with characters who are at once unreliable and sympathetic. Just when you think you’ve figured out the plot, the story pivots in a startling new direction. … A taut and original mystery that will keep you up late trying to figure out a final twist that you won’t see coming”

Carla Norton,, bestselling author of THE EDGE OF NORMAL and WHAT DOESN’T KILL HER

“Part psychological thriller, part homage to slasher flicks and film noir, FINAL GIRLS has a little bit of everything: a suspicious death, a damaged heroine, an unwelcome guest who trades in secrets, and not a single character you can trust. Plenty of nail-biting fun!”

Hester Young,, author of THE GATES OF EVANGELINE

“Smart and provocative, with plenty of twists and turns, FINAL GIRLS will have the reader racing breathlessly toward its shocking conclusion”

Sophie Littlefield,, award-winning author of THE GUILTY ONE and THE MISSING PLACE

“There are uncommon books and films that crack the ‘safe place,’ that have us forgetting it’s only a story. Nobody knows exactly how this is done, but when it’s done, we know it. Final Girls is operating on that plane; you will check your own arm for a wound a character suffers, you will look across the room when a character hears someone coming, and you will wonder if you yourself have the mettle to endure being a Final Girl.”

Josh Malerman,, author of BIRD BOX

“Sager cleverly plays on horror movie themes from Scream to Single White Female, creating an homage without camp. Despite comparisons to Gone Girl, this debut’s strong character development and themes of rebirth and redemption align more closely with Flynn’s Dark Places”

Booklist (starred review)


Related titles