> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 11 July 2019
  • ISBN: 9780857524904
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $26.99

Expectation

'The most buzzed-about addictive read' STYLIST




The MOST BUZZED-ABOUT, ADDICTIVE read of the summer: An intelligent, emotional, contemporary novel about female friendship. For fans of Sally Rooney, Lisa Taddeo and Elizabeth Day

'Profoundly intelligent and humane. Deserves to feature on many a prize shortlist' GUARDIAN
'A brilliant exploration of friendship, feminism and thwarted ambition' PANDORA SYKES
'If you wished Normal People had tackled female friendship, try Expectation' GRAZIA_______________________

What happened to the women we were supposed to become?
Hannah, Cate and Lissa are young, vibrant and inseparable. Living on the edge of a common in East London, their shared world is ablaze with art and activism, romance and revelry – and the promise of everything to come. They are electric. They are the best of friends.

Ten years on, they are not where they hoped to be. Amidst flailing careers and faltering marriages, each hungers for what the others have. And each wrestles with the same question: what does it take to lead a meaningful life?

The most razor-sharp and heartbreaking novel of the year, EXPECTATION is a novel about finding your way: as a mother, a daughter, a wife, a rebel.

FOR FANS OF SALLY ROONEY, DIANA EVANS, DOLLY ALDERTON, ELIZABETH DAY AND FLEABAG

___________________
'Thoughtful, beautifully written, honest. A sensual book. I URGE YOU TO READ IT' MARIAN KEYES
'Will resonate with approximately 99% of women' RED MAGAZINE summer pick

'One of the most intensely readable novels this year' METRO
'One of our most gifted contemporary writers' WATERSTONES

'Beautiful, sharp, moving. I urge you to read it' ELIZABETH DAY

'I couldn't stop reading the fab Expectation. Such brilliant points on the feminist legacy' PROF KATE WILLIAMS
'The story of 3 college friends, if you're a fan of Sally Rooney, you'll love EXPECTATION' IRISH EXAMINER

'A must-read' FABULOUS MAGAZINE

'Exceptional.. I highly recommend it' STACEY HALLS

'A generation-defining book on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like Normal People with female friendship under the microscope.’ ERIN KELLY

'Jaw-droppingly good' SARRA MANNING

'SO GOOD. A 'What they did next' story of characters from a Sally Rooney novel' SARAH FRANKLIN
'Few novels leave me so genuinely breathless with their brilliance' HANNAH BECKERMAN

'The perfect summer reading' STYLIST

'Sublime' GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

'Dark, relatable, elegant' LIZA KLAUSSMANN

'Intimate and touching' NINA POTTELL

'A marvellously tangy London novel' DAILY MAIL
'A grown-up, honest take on female camaraderie. Packed with talking points' MAIL ON SUNDAY

'Hugely absorbing, massively enjoyable' LISSA EVANS
'An observant look at the complexities of modern female friendships' I-NEWSPAPER
'Perceptive, intelligent, bittersweet, and beautifully written' BOOKBRUNCH



  • Pub date: 11 July 2019
  • ISBN: 9780857524904
  • Imprint: Doubleday
  • Format: Hardback
  • Pages: 336
  • RRP: $26.99

About the Author

Anna Hope

Anna Hope was educated at Wadham College, Oxford, RADA, and Birkbeck College, London. She lives in East London. WAKE is her first novel.

Also by Anna Hope

See all

Praise for Expectation

“EDITOR'S CHOICE: I enjoyed this contemporary novel about the gulf between the expectation of how life will turn out and the reality... [it] taps into the current conversation about finding fulfilment and living a meaningful life.”

Alice O'Keeffe, The Bookseller

“BEST BOOKS FOR JULY: Expectation has defied all my expectations and completely redefined the friendship novel. Each of the characters resonated with me and I’m in awe of the way Anna Hope captures what it means to be a woman, right here, right now, with all the precision of a surgeon’s knife.”

Red Magazine

“Profoundly intelligent and humane. Deserves to feature on many a prize shortlist”

Guardian

“Succulent, tender and honest, EXPECTATION is about the relationships between women: love, loss, triumph and betrayal. It was one of those books that knowingly flirted, then seduced me and then utterly ravished me”

TOR UDALL

“Brilliant portrayal of long-term female friendships . . . I was gripped.”

Prima

“Jaw-droppingly good”

SARRA MANNING

“The real joy of this novel – while exploring just what second wave feminism has done for this generation of women (“you’ve had everything… we changed the world for you. For our daughters. And what have you done with it?”) – is in it’s writing; the dialogue and the honesty behind these characters who are doing their best, who are trying to live up to the fictional counterparts that they themselves have created… It’s the perfect summer reading”

STYLIST MAGAZINE

“Like NORMAL PEOPLE but about female friendship rather than a romantic relationship. It is AWESOME.”

ERIN KELLY

“Hope’s writing is sublime and her characters so well fleshed out they will feel like friends at the end”

Good Housekeeping

“I loved it. Raw, honest, unputdownable.”

TAMMY COHEN

“Few novels leave me genuinely breathless with their brilliance. EXPECTATION is one of them. This book is beautiful. I am in AWE”

HANNAH BECKERMAN

“Thoughtful, beautifully written, honest. A sensual book. I URGE YOU TO READ IT”

MARIAN KEYES

“I tore through EXPECTATION at the weekend. Exceptional gorgeously written and reads like a love letter to London. I highly recommend it”

STACEY HALLS, bestselling author of THE FAMILIARS

“I absolutely loved this. What really appealed to me was the depiction of the parents, about legacy and about what the mother's generation leaves for the one that comes after”

ANNE YOUNGSON

“A generation-defining book, honest and relatable on motherhood, ambition and sex. Like NORMAL PEOPLE with female friendship under the microscope”

ERIN KELLY, bestselling author of HE SAID/SHE SAID

“Anna Hope has a way of getting inside difficult and painful moments, turning them inside out. I felt I knew these women as my own friends. Taut, electric, complex, funny.”

RACHEL JOYCE bestselling author of THE UNEXPECTED PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY

“Will resonate with approximately 99 % of all women”

RED magazine summer pick

“A Sally Rooney-esque evocative examination of female friendship”

BEST SUMMER READS, i-newspaper

“Absolutely encapsulates what it means to be a young woman today, and beyond”

Grazia Magazine

“Such a dark, relatable, elegant take on how time alters female friendships: how we become THESE people and our friends become THOSE people. Anyway, I loved it. You probably will, too”

LIZA KLAUSSMANN, author of Tigers in Red Weather

“An intimate and touching portrayal of female friendship that shows it's okay to just be”

NINA POTTELL

“So fresh, human, kind and relatable”

JENNY COLGAN

“A must-read. Will make you want to hug the women in you life”

FABULOUS MAGAZINE

“A deftly crafted hymn to the comfort and frustration of female friendship from one of our most gifted contemporary writers”

WATERSTONES

“Sensual and evocative, deeply attuned to both the inner lives of the protagonists”

CULTUREFLY

“The prose is beautiful, the characters achingly real, their flawed decisions enraging and yet somehow still relatable. This wonderful book will resonate with every woman who reads it”

LOUISE O'NEILL

“One of the most intensely readable novels I've encountered this year”

METRO

“A quietly political story that suggests historic battles have left women with new impossible burdens of expectation. A marvellously tangy London novel”

DAILY MAIL

“Hope beautifully examines how female friendship, its issues entirely relatable, ebbs and flows over time in this wise and engaging read”

SUNDAY EXPRESS

“Hugely absorbing, massively enjoyable”

LISSA EVANS

“A deftly crafted hymn to the comfort and frustration of female friendship from one of our most gifted contemporary writers”

WATERSTONES

“A brilliant exploration of friendship, feminism and thwarted ambition”

Pandora Sykes

“Sensitive, resonant, addictive”

DAILY MIRROR

“I loved it . . . 10 out of 10!”

BRYONY GORDON

“A story that resonates with anyone who has tried and failed and tried again as they contemplate that gap between what is possible and what is not.”

RTE GUIDE

“Compulsive and beautifully told storytelling - an ode to 21st century London and an examination of the pressures of modern society”

IRISH TIMES

“completely redefines the friendship novel. I am in awe of the way Anna Hope captures what it means to be a woman, right here, right now.”

RED MAGAZINE, TOP TEN BEST BOOKS ON FRIENDSHIP

“Hope is adept at characterisation. The friends are fantastically well-realised.”

Daily Times

“The story of 3 college friends, if you're a fan of Sally Rooney, you'll love EXPECTATION”

Irish Examiner

“A grown-up, honest take on female camaraderie. Packed with talking points ”

Mail on Sunday

“Fantastic. Beautifully written, sharply observed and saying important things”

ELIZABETH DAY


Related titles