> Skip to content

Sometimes it takes a chance encounter to discover what happiness really is . . . Perfect for fans of The Keeper of Lost Things, Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and The Rosie Project.

__________

Wow, what a love story. Uplifting and full of heart. I couldn’t put it down!’
Jo Thomas, author of Late Summer in the Vineyard

Meet Ellie. She’s perfectly happy living her quiet life with her husband, Clive. Happy to wander the Exmoor countryside and write the occasional poem that nobody will read; happy to dream of all the things she hasn't yet managed to do. Or is she?

Meet Dan. He thinks all he needs is the time and space to make harps in his isolated barn on Exmoor. He enjoys being on his own, far away from other people and – crucially – far away from any risk of surprises.

What Ellie and Dan don’t know yet, is that a chance encounter is about to change all of this.
__________


‘A beautiful love song of a story, wonderfully told with a warm heart and much hope
Phaedra Patrick, author of The Library of Lost and Found

Reviews

Wow, what a love story. Ellie and the Harp Maker is uplifting and full of heart, and I couldn’t put it down! Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Jo Thomas

Ellie and the Harp-Maker is a beautiful love song of a story, wonderfully told with a warm heart and much hope. Hazel Prior’s writing is a lyrical delight.

Phaedra Patrick, author of THE LIBRARY OF LOST AND FOUND

Read More

Formats & editions

  • Trade Paperback

    9781787630925

    May 7, 2019

    Bantam Press

    288 pages

    RRP $32.99

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • Hardback

    9781787630918

    May 7, 2019

    Bantam Press

    288 pages

    RRP $35.00

    Online retailers

    • Amazon
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Dymocks
    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    • The Nile
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473562097

    May 2, 2019

    Transworld Digital

    288 pages

    Online retailers

    • Amazon Kindle AU
    • iBooks
    • Google Play EBook AU
    • Kobo Ebook
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks

Extract

1

Dan

A woman came to the barn today. Her hair was the colour of walnut wood. Her eyes were the colour of bracken in October. Her socks were the colour of cherries, which was noticeable because all the rest of her clothes were sad colours. She carried an enormous shoulder bag, canvas. It had a big buckle (square) but it was hanging open. The woman’s mouth was open too. She was shifting from one foot to the other by the door so I told her to come in. The words came out a bit mangled due to the fact I was wearing my mask. She asked what I’d said, so I took it off and also took off my ear defenders and I said it again. She came in. Her socks were very red indeed. So was her face.

Continue Reading