> Skip to content
  • Published: 15 May 2014
  • ISBN: 9780753555071
  • Imprint: Virgin Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $19.99

Call the Vet

Farmers, Dramas and Disasters - My First Year as a Country Vet




A charming and funny memoir following a young female vet's adventures and misadventures in rural Dorset. The perfect read for fans of James Herriot, Cathy Woodman and Countryfile.

When fresh-faced, newly qualified vet Anna arrives in the seemingly sleepy Dorset village of Ebbourne, little does she know that this tiny rural community is about to change her life .

Straight in at the deep end, Anna faces two tricky calvings, an emergency call-out to a frightened mare, lots of mad cats (and mad cat women) and one enormous dog with an injured leg and a threatening bark. Spirited and determined, Anna quickly finds her feet and falls in love with rural life, including Ebbourne's eccentric characters and their animals.

Disasters, dramas, farmers and friendship - and not to mention a whirlwind romance with a local Wildlife Trust worker - this warm and witty memoir offers a window into what working with animals and country life is really all about.

  • Published: 15 May 2014
  • ISBN: 9780753555071
  • Imprint: Virgin Books
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 352
  • RRP: $19.99

About the author

Anna Birch

Anna Birch is a vet, farmer’s wife and mother of two small children. They live together on a farm in beautiful North Dorset with a herd of Red Devon cows, twenty Wiltshire Horn sheep, seventeen Gloucester Old Spot pigs, four rescue chickens, two farm cats, two Jack Russells and one Labrador. This is Anna’s first memoir about vetting and rural life.

Related titles