> Skip to content
About the book
  • Published: 2 June 2014
  • ISBN: 9781783440054
  • Imprint: Andersen
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $14.99

Bone Jack


Formats & editions


Nominated for the 2015 Carnegie Medal. A stunning debut novel - a raw and haunting tale of ancient folklore entwined with a modern-day tragedy.

Ash’s dad has returned from war, close to a breakdown and lost in a world of imaginary threats. Meanwhile, Ash’s best friend Mark is grieving and has drifted away into his own nightmares. Ash’s only escape is his lonely mountain running, training to be the stag boy in the annual Stag Chase. But dark things are stirring. Ash begins to wonder if the sinister stories about the Stag Chase are true. Could Mark and Dad be haunted by more than just their pasts?

Bone Jack is a powerful and beguiling YA novel’ - Telegraph

‘Dark, magical, and mysterious, Bone Jack captured me and carried me away’ - Rebecca Stead, author of Liar and Spy and When You Reach Me

‘A marvellous debut. Don't miss this book!’ - Susan Cooper, author of The Dark is Rising and Ghost Hawk

‘Haunting and compelling. An outstanding novel’ - Phil Earle, author of Being Billy and Heroic

‘An extraordinary modern fantasy with never a wasted word’ - Imogen Russell Williams, Metro

  • Pub date: 2 June 2014
  • ISBN: 9781783440054
  • Imprint: Andersen
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 304
  • RRP: $14.99

About the Author

Sara Crowe

Sara Crowe was born in a tiny cottage in Cornwall and raised in the wilds of Devon, Lincolnshire, Yorkshire and several other English counties. She has worked as a part-time shepherd, a model (the clothed variety) and a film extra. She has a PhD from Bristol University and has taught courses on early cinema and the history of photography. In 2013, she went on a year-long journey around Britain in a motorhome, photographing and writing about nature, local folklore and the landscape as she goes.Her first novel was Bone Jack.

Also by Sara Crowe

See all

Praise for Bone Jack

“A marvellous debut. Don't miss this book!”

Susan Cooper, author of The Dark is Rising and Ghost Hawk

“Dark, magical, and mysterious, Bone Jack captured me and carried me away.”

Rebecca Stead, author of Liar & Spy and When You Reach Me

“Dark, magical, and mysterious, Bone Jack captured me and carried me away.”

Rebecca Stead, author of Liar & Spy and When You Reach Me

“Bone Jack hooks from the opening atmospheric chapter ... full of powerful characters ... a powerful and beguiling YA novel”

Martin Chilton, Telegraph

“An extraordinary modern fantasy with never a wasted word”

Imogen Russell Williams, Metro

“Fans of Alan Garner and Marcus Sedgwick will love exploring these atmospheric landscapes of near-forgotten myths.”

Jasmine Fassl, The Scotsman

“A rich and rewarding read, involving and compelling from start to finish”

Books for Keeps, Book of the Week

“If you're a fan of classic fantasy like The Dark is Rising and Alan Garner's books, PLEASE don't miss Bone Jack!”

YA Yeah Yeah

“Wonderful storytelling: an engaging plot, lifelike characters and absorbingly atmospheric settings and language... compelling and atmospheric”

We Sat Down

“Gripping with an atmospheric tone. Touches various genres: adventure, fantasy, supernatural, ancient & modern. An original Teen read.”

Peters, Books of the Week

“Compelling and atmospheric... a gripping story.”

The School Librarian

“Fascinating and evocative story combines folklore with contemporary issues.”

Good Book Guide

“Dark, atmospheric and mysterious. Beautifully written... a stunning debut novel!”

Carousel

“Exciting, mysterious and gripping story.”

Armadillo Magazine


Related titles