> Skip to content

An unmarried mother faces a terrible dilemma - can she give her son a better life by letting him go? The new saga from Sunday Times bestseller Val Wood.

For ten years, Delia has had to fend for herself and her son Jack, and as a young unmarried mother, life has never been easy. Every new coat and pair of shoes was bought with what little money she could scrape together as a singer on the stage.

But when the theatre work dries up, Delia faces a dilemma: continue the search for employment with no knowing whether she’ll find the stability and security her son needs, or return to the place that should be home . . . where only spite and hatred await them.

Desperate now, a chance encounter suddenly presents a lifeline. But Delia is faced with an impossible, heart-wrenching choice. Can she bear to leave Jack behind, hoping another family will care for him? Will they ever be reunited?

What else can a mother do to give her son the life he deserves?

Val Wood's wonderful historical sagas are perfect for readers of Dilly Court, Maggie Hope and Rosie Goodwin.

Formats & editions

  • Hardback

    9780593078488

    November 15, 2017

    Bantam Press

    RRP $45.00

    Online retailers

    • Abbey's Bookshop
    • Angus & Robertson Bookworld
    • Booktopia
    • Boomerang Books
    • Collins Booksellers
    • Dymocks
    • Books Kinokuniya
    • The Nile
    • QBD
    • Readings
    • Robinsons Bookshop
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

  • EBook

    9781473542716

    November 16, 2017

    Transworld Digital

    320 pages

    Online retailers

    • iBooks
    • Amazon Kindle
    • Booktopia
    • eBooks
    • Google Play
    • Kobo
    Or

    Find your local bookstore at booksellers.org.au

Also by Val Wood

No Place for a Woman
Little Girl Lost
Every Mother's Son
His Brother's Wife
The Maid's Secret
The Innkeeper's Daughter
Going Home
The Harbour Girl
The Gypsy Girl
The Kitchen Maid
The Hungry Tide
Annie
Far From Home
Children Of The Tide
Homecoming Girls
Emily
Rich Girl, Poor Girl
The Long Walk Home
Fallen Angels
Nobody's Child
The Songbird
The Doorstep Girls
Rosa's Island

Recommendations

Ambulance Girls
Fifty Shades Darker
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
The Chocolate Tin
Hello from the Gillespies
Virgins
Jessica
The Time Traveler's Wife
The Rain Queen
Dead To Me
Dazzling
A Wedding in Maine
The Power Of One
Exquisite
The Wife's Tale
Still Waters
The Waiting Hours
The Golden House
The Summer of Impossible Things
Birdsong