> Skip to content
Wiley Cash
Photo Credit: Tiffany Davis


Wiley Cash is from western North Carolina, a region that figures prominently in his fiction. His stories have appeared in Crab Orchard Review, Roanoke Review and The Carolina Quarterly. A LAND MORE KIND THAN HOME (April 2012) is his first novel.

Wiley holds a B.A. in Literature from the University of North Carolina-Asheville, an M.A. in English from the University of North Carolina-Greensboro, and a Ph.D. in English from the University of Louisiana-Lafayette. He has received grants and fellowships from the Asheville Area Arts Council, the Thomas Wolfe Society, the MacDowell Colony and Yaddo.

He and his wife currently live in West Virginia where he teaches fiction writing and American literature at Bethany College. He also teaches in the Low-Residency MFA Program in Fiction and Nonfiction Writing at Southern New Hampshire University.

Books by Wiley Cash

This Dark Road to Mercy

An electrifying road trip thriller from New York Times bestseller Wiley Cash. Perfect for fans of Cormac McCarthy.'A terrific, moving and propulsive novel: Harper Lee by way of Elmore Leonard' Jess Walter, New York Times best-selling author of Beautiful Ruins

Read more
A Land More Kind Than Home

Winner of the John Creasey 'New Blood' Award 2012 - set in the American south where a young boy witnesses the murder of his young brother.

Read more